Extension of tenure for heads of Department of Bioscience

Peter Henriksen and Hans Brix have extended their positions as heads of department for a three-year period from 1 June 2017 to 2020.

2017.05.24 | Christina Troelsen

Hans Brix and Peter Henriksen have extended their positions as heads of the Department of Bioscience up to 2020. Photo: AU Communication

Peter Henriksen and Hans Brix were appointed heads of the Department of Bioscience in 2014. They manage the department jointly, but as far as finances and staff are concerned, Dr Henriksen is responsible for Bioscience Roskilde, Kalø and Silkeborg, while Professor Brix is responsible for Bioscience Aarhus.

Both men are botanists, and Professor Brix has been a professor of plant biology since 2006. He was head of section for the plant biologists at the former Department of Biological Sciences for more than ten years. He was appointed deputy head of department in 2013 and acting head of department shortly afterwards, along with Dr Henriksen. In 2014, he was appointed head of department for a period of three years.

Professor Brix specialises in the ecophysiology of plants in aquatic ecosystems with a particular focus on wetlands, lakes and streams, and he works with both basic and applied science. The latter involves the use of natural and constructed wetlands for wastewater treatment.

Dr Henriksen is a botanist who specialises in toxic algae. His work focuses particularly on chemical analyses of blue-green algal toxins and phytoplankton pigments. He has had management positions since 2005, initially at the former National Environmental Research Institute (NERI) and, from 2011 to 2013, as deputy head of department at the newly established Department of Bioscience. He was appointed acting head of department along with Professor Brix in 2013, and head of department for a three-year period in 2014.

For a number of years, Dr Henriksen was also head of the marine data centre, which ensures expertise in the Ministry of Environment and Food of Denmark’s national environment and nature surveillance programme.